only search CHEC


Cape Peninsula University of Technology
PO Box 652
Cape Town
Tel: +27 21 959 6230
Fax: +27 21 959 6069

Cape Peninsula University of Technology

The Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) was established on 1 January 2005 when the Cape Technikon and Peninsula Technikon merged. This was part of a national process of transforming the higher education landscape in South Africa. The history of CPUT is, therefore, the history of the two merged institutions and goes back to 1920 when the foundation stone of the Longmarket Street Building of the then Cape Technical College was laid in Cape Town. The Peninsula Technical College was established in 1962 and in 1967 the College relocated to its Bellville campus. After the promulgation of the Technikons Act in 1976, technical colleges were able to offer tertiary education in selected fields of study. During 1979 both colleges were legally established as technikons and from 1993 they were empowered to offer degrees: Bachelors, Masterís and Doctoral degrees in Technology.

General information

Founded: 2005 through the merger of the Cape Technikon and Peninsula Technikon

Undergraduate students: 29 021

Masterís students: 743

PhD students: 125

International students: 2 282

Academic staff: 715


  • Applied Sciences
  • Business
  • Education and Social Sciences
  • Engineering
  • Health and Wellness Sciences
  • Informatics and Design
PAIA | Disclaimer

© 2010 CHEC. All rights reserved
Home | About us | What we do | News & Events | Reports | Contact us